Driving Without a License
Charged With Driving Without A License in New Jersey
Ocean County & Monmouth County Criminal Defense Attorney
In New Jersey it is against the law to drive without a license. Statute N.J.S.A. 30:3-10 prohibits any person from driving without a license (except when the person is being supervised while participating in a behind-the-wheel driving course). If you have been charged with driving without a license you should consult traffic attorney Edward V. Murachanian immediately to discuss your defense options.
Penalties for Driving without a License in NJ
Driving without a license is a traffic offense that may result in serious consequences including but not limited to:
- A fine of up to $500
- up to 60 days in County jail
If the accused has never had a license in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction, the person will be subject to the following penalty if convicted:
- A fine up to $200
- The court will issue an order that prohibits the person from receiving a license for a period up to 180 days
Edward V. Murachanian is well versed in New Jersey traffic and criminal laws and may be able to save your driving privileges. There are several arguments that can result in the dismissal or downgrade of the charges you are facing; for example, if you drove because of an emergency, this may be a valid defense. Typically, an emergency occurs when there is an actual and reasonable belief that an injury or the immediate threat of an injury made it necessary to drive. Other defenses may also be available. If you are facing a driving without a license charge, call or fill out the online contact form to reach the Law Office of Edward V. Murachanian at 732-477-3030.